Family owned and operated since 1893.
Paul E. Dutelle and Co. Inc. has been in business since Mr. Dutelle purchased the company in 1893 from John Farquhar Sons Inc. under whom he apprenticed. John Farquhar established the company originally in 1823. We incorporated in 1928 with Paul E. Dutelle as our president until his passing in 1955.
At that time, George B. Jarvis, Sr., who served as Vice President under Mr. Dutelle, became the owner and president of our company. When George Sr. passed away in 1981, his son George Jr. took over as president and oversaw our operation until 1992. When he passed, the day to day operation of our organization went to his nephew, Charles T. Curran.
Charles is our current president, keeping us a family-owned and operated business for over a century .
Residential, Commercial, and Historical Preservation.
In addition to our extensive listing of residential clientele, we have worked on numerous other projects such as but not limited to, Longwood Cricket Club, Boston College, Newton Cemetery, Philips Academy, Newton Country Day School, Boston Symphony Hall, Brimmer and May School, and the Dexter School.
We have extensive experience working on Historical Landmarks and with various Historical Preservation groups, such as Historic New England, and understand the need to work towards authenticity and to duplicate the look and feel for each landmark. You can view some of our work at the following locations: The Fruitland Museum, The Old North Church, The Don Orion Shrine, Harvard Public Library, The First Church of Christ-Lancaster, The Cooper Frost home, Lyman Estates and the Spencer Pierce Little Farm.
“First impressions have no do overs.”
— Paul E. Dutelle